PDA

View Full Version : I'm a real machinist too! Well...

lathesmith
01-24-2008, 09:04 PM
Okay, maybe not a REAL machinist, but better tinkerer, anyway! (I'm just having a little fun here Buckshot, hope you don't mind). I saw your thread on, well, threads, and you inspired me to share! Anyway, as a Winter project I decided to make a new spindle for my little lathe. The old one only had an .815 thru-bore, and I determined that I could safely get around a .950 + bore--with a new spindle, that is. This doesn't sound like much, but it opens up whole new worlds of machining fun and projects for me. So, I found a nice piece of 4140 steel, and started turning, --and turning, and turning...I think this 3.5 inch piece weighed around 40 lbs to start with, and ended up weighing around 10 or so when done. That is a LOT of cutting! Especially for such a small lathe! I made this thing entirely on my little lathe; I was even able to bore it, with some creative stratagies. While I was at it, I decided a threaded spindle would be handy; so, I determined that 2 1/4-8 would be just right, and that is what I made. I ultimately threaded the new spindle AFTER it was installed, for maximum accuracy. And accurate it is, I am quite astounded at repeat accuracy, actually.
Those tiny threads that Buckshot mastered are impressive. Mine are at the other end of the scale--2 1/4-8 tpi. And, to top it off, I made three backing plates from cold rolled steel, and had to cut INSIDE threads. I did this with a crude but simple 5/16 tool blank that I ground with a threader on one end. It has worked great for several inside projects, and I am amazed at what I have been able to do with this thing! A real personal triumph!