PDA

View Full Version : Horizontal Mill or Shaper?

Any Cal.
07-30-2014, 01:52 AM
Hi all,

I have been slowly learning to use some machine tools, and came across a horizontal mill and a shaper on CL. I have no experience with either, but have been looking for a vertical mill. When these came up, it had me wondering if it wouldn't be a better idea to pick up one or both of them for now.

The shaper comes with a vise, the mill only has one cutter.

Any words of wisdom or ideas? It seems like these could accomplish quite a bit without the tooling required for a vertical mill, but that could just be my inexperience talking. Any help or thoughts would be appreciated, I am supposed to go look at them in the AM.

BigEyeBob
07-30-2014, 06:44 AM
Largely the mill has replaced the shaper over time , but there are some applications where a shaper is the tool for the job rather than a mill.

GARD72977
07-30-2014, 09:30 AM
You will have to make almost all the cutters for the shaper. I always wanted one but doubt I would really need it. I bought a vertical mill with 3 axis DRO and have a horizontal attachment. It saves space and money. I have only put the horizontal attachment on twice.

elk hunter
07-30-2014, 09:59 AM
I have both. The shaper excels in cutting splines, key ways and large dovetails but, sees little use. My horizontal mill is a size 0 Sheldon which is about the size of a bench mill but, has a heavy cast iron base. I use it to make mould blocks and for cutting extractor slots in barrels but, little else. The real work horse is my 10x54 vertical mill for which I also have a horizontal head. Unless you have some special need/use for a shaper or horizontal mill save your money and buy a good vertical mill and a lathe, you'll have what you need to do just about any kind of machine work.

country gent
07-30-2014, 10:01 AM