PDA

View Full Version : Building casting molds

rossrods
07-18-2014, 07:01 AM
Hello guys. Just curious as to how bullet casting/ molding process works? My background is in fishing mold making industry. There's actually about .002 of a inch one might could be off and it really will not be noticeable with a fishing mold, Other than flatness between plates of course. The production molds that you guys buy are they medical industry held tolerance.(.0005) accuracy. I do not have much knowledge about casting. After you guys cast, does one always run the cast thru a sizer die? This is one of my proto/play molds, would this style of mold be useable in bullet casting. Of course it would be a bullet profile. I know one needs a spur plate and mold to be made of steel? Would aluminum work? I've never attempted a bullet mold because I assumed that precision had to be held down to .0005.

salty dog
07-18-2014, 08:10 AM
Yes, tolerances would be in the .0005 range for diameter. For instance, custom mold makers offer the choice of .357, .358, or .359 for the same caliber, so it would have to be at least .0005 inches to get that. Most, but not all, bullets would be run through a sizer.

bangerjim
07-18-2014, 12:41 PM
There is casting fishing lures.......and then there is making precision boolit molds.

The hardest part is making the cherry to cut the mold cavities. As you know a boolit has lube grooves that must be cut along with the ogive/nose cut. Making that cutting tool ACCURATELY is 80% of the work. And accuracy of 0.0005 is definitely important. But so is REPEATABILITY! And they MUST be of a mirror finish in the cavities. You have to make the same cavity time after time, mold after mold, if you are contemplating getting into the mold monger business.

I buy all my molds even though I have a full machine shop and skills to make all the parts and tools. Just too much time involved for very little result........in my book.