PDA

View Full Version : for you machinists

lunicy
01-22-2008, 11:08 AM
Quick question. I have a small lathe from a previous career. But I am a novice at best. How do you make a percision hole with a "shaped" bottom. (Think in terms of a point forming die for the swaging press. thanks

Swagerman
01-22-2008, 11:48 AM
Hello, are you asking about nose punches with either a SWC or RNFP type nose former?

Its about the only thing I can make on my little mini-lathe, at best the end results are workable but not precise in quality.

My take on it has been you'll need a nose punch blank that is round in diameter and will fit your swaging die to travel up and down inside it.

Then tool grinding comes into play, you have to make a nose cutter bit that will cut the nose shape you require. That is, you'll need one that can cut the desired shape and depth the bullet is expected to be conformed to.

The round nose blank is placed in your lathe chuck, the tool cutter bit is placed in your tool post stand...usually straight on towards the lathe chuck.

Will try and show some pictures that may help.

Jim

http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e321/44and45/P5110019good771X.jpg

http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e321/44and45/PC190006Bothbottombarscloseup.jpg

http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e321/44and45/P2280024punchescropped.jpg

In this last photo I show Herter's shell holders with nose punch stems sized to fit through the primer drop hole, a threaded shaft and nut holds things together. The Herter's give me good concentric in swaging.

Contact me by email if you want more photos of the cutter bits.

Jim

Bent Ramrod
01-22-2008, 11:42 PM