PDA

View Full Version : Sarco 1911 Frame Gunsmith Specials

Kilroy08
07-08-2014, 06:23 PM
I saw that Sarco has another batch of 1911 frames in that are listed as gunsmith
specials due to some undisclosed manufacturing defect.

I'm very tempted to order one but I would like to know if any one else has purchased a frame
from this or previous batches that Sarco has offered.

As a machinist, I've become pretty adept at unscrewing my own screw ups. However, when it comes
to someone else's act of zigging instead of zagging, things get interesting.

wv109323
07-08-2014, 07:39 PM
I would guess that the frames are Essex due to the high amount of Essex parts they sell. I don't know your expertise level but there are few things on a 1911 frame that can not be fixed but if the OEM thought it was non-profitable to correct then....

seagiant
07-18-2014, 11:03 PM
Hi,
Yes buyer beware! However SARCO does get the cast Rock Island frames from the Phillipines and they are good to go, even though they sale quickly because of Gunsmith pre-orders waiting on a shipment to come in! I would call and ask about those!

jmsj
07-19-2014, 10:32 AM
If possible I would try to find out what the "manufacturing defect" is.
Now don't get me wrong, there is nothing w/ Armscor frames. I have built many guns from the Rock Island bare frames (4) and frame/slide and barrel kits (5) from Sarco and in the process of doing another frame/slide and barrel kit build currently.