PDA

View Full Version : NOE 00 buck 12 cavity mold problem

Terryrm1-03
07-05-2014, 09:25 AM
Anyone have ideas what i'm doing wrong casting 00 buck from a new NOE mold.
I'm using pure lead. The rows are 3 balls per row. They stay stuck together, and are very hard to break apart. Bought it last yr new. Just now getting to use it.
Any help would be appreciated!
Thanks Terry

RED333
07-05-2014, 10:15 AM
Do you mean hard to open the mold, or the balls not breaking apart?
I do not have this mold, but do cast buck with another mold, I use a flush cutter plyers
to cut mine apart.

Terryrm1-03
07-05-2014, 07:08 PM
The mold opens up just fine, and drops the balls out together. But there are (4) rows and the (3) balls are connected together. Figured they'd just kinda fall apart, but is that what I need to do is cut them apart with flush cutter plyers? I'm new to this, wasn't expecting to have to do this.
Thank for your help

blaser.306
07-05-2014, 07:15 PM
Can't say for sure as I don't have one of these, But if I was a betting person ( which I am not ) That mould likely wants to be run smokin hot and opened as soon as the sprue has just hardened, do not let it cool down at all between casts. I was witness to one of the buck shot moulds that was making it's rounds being cast. When run this way, the balls all separated themselves from the spru with a few exceptions. Ymmv but worth a try.

Terryrm1-03
07-05-2014, 09:19 PM
Thanks so much will give it a try! Smokin HOT it is!

Blammer
07-07-2014, 10:47 PM
You sure it's an NOE mould?

Terryrm1-03
07-11-2014, 05:24 PM
10-4 Its a NOE Mold.
I had it on backorder for along time. finally got it it on their last run.

Harter66
07-16-2014, 12:42 PM
I've another brand also . I use cat toe nail cutters of a scissor type they were like $3 at Wal-Mart. They are beveled on each out side and near perfectly suited.

Blammer
07-17-2014, 03:03 PM
10-4 Its a NOE Mold.
I had it on backorder for along time. finally got it it on their last run.