PDA

View Full Version : Paper patch a J-bulet?

Lead melter
01-20-2008, 12:51 PM
OK, I'm brand new to this specialty, so I know nothing. I do have an idea that I'm trying to see if it may pan out.
I have an H&R Target Classic, 38-55 with the usual oversize bore. I have not slugged it, but can get decent accuracy, 3" groups at 100 yards using issue sights and the Lee .379" boolit as cast [.379-.380"].
I have some Hornady 220 grain FN/SP J-bullets I'd like to try, but the .375 diameter slug is way to small...keyholes at 25 yards. Since I have them, I would like to try them on a deer sized critter.
My question is, is there a way to paper patch this joker, and what would I use? Or is my 'coon dog barking up and empty tree?:???:

longbow
01-20-2008, 01:36 PM
From the dimensions you give I don't think you have enough clearance for paper patching - at least from my experience.

The "J" bullets can certainly be paper patched and Ross Seyfreid wrote an article in Guns and Ammo many years ago about paper patching "J" bullets for odd calibers so readily available bullets could be used. It seems to me he even patched 7mm up to .30 cal. using 3 wraps.

I lent the magazine and never got it back so don't have specifics.

What Ross said is to roll the bullet under a file to roughen the surface so the paper would grip. The rest is pretty much standard paper patching.

If you are only trying to fill up the difference between 0.375" and 0.379" though I doubt you you can do it. Normally 2 wraps is used without overlapping at the finish. Even 0.002" is going to give you 0.006" to 0.008" increase. And that with thin fragile paper.

You might try teflon tape again roughening the surface of the bullet first.