PDA

View Full Version : New to this forum, but not to wheelguns and cast boolits ...

wquiles
07-03-2014, 11:43 AM
Hi there from Texas!

I have been reloading cast bullets since early 1991, when I started reloading for my Colt .45 ACP pistol. I am an engineer, and also a hobby machinist, so I can't help but keep very detailed notes about every single lot of ammo I have reloaded during this time, and I wish I had access to a forum as good as this one when I got started, as it would have made things so much easier and less frustrating.

Although I am not going to bother you with my all of my reload data, I have been most recently (last 10+ years) reloading cast boolits for my .44 Mag wheelgun. Although I have sold/traded some .44 Magnum firearms over the years, I have kept and modified this custom Ruger, at "upper" 44 Special/lower 44 Mag velocities (250gr LBT LFN, GC, at about 1100 fps). This started as a Ruger Super Blackhawk with the 7-1/2" barrel, but it has been modded over the years.

I have fire-lapped it already (.432 cyl throats, and right at .4305" for the bore), it has a full accurizing & action job by Hamilton Bowen, and I most recently installed and fitted the Bisley grip frame. Not happy with the balance now as I did when I first got it 10+ years ago, I then cut the barrel to 4-5/8" and soldered a new front sight (S&W interchangeable inserts). With the balance just right, all I "wanted" as a larger grip for my hands, so I got a new set of over-sized grips (Rosewood) from Eagle Grips. I sent the Bisley grip frame for them to fit, and it came back perfect. In fact, so good that I wanted to share a couple of pictures of how awesome those folks at Eagle Grips did on my frame:

http://m3coupe.com/Firearms/Ruger/custom44/20140620_192717.jpg

http://m3coupe.com/Firearms/Ruger/custom44/20140620_192803.jpg

http://m3coupe.com/Firearms/Ruger/custom44/20140620_192831.jpg

I am not affiliated with Eagle Grips - just a happy customer [smilie=s: