PDA

View Full Version : New BP shooter need some guidance

hogstad7
06-29-2014, 05:50 PM
Hi. I am new to BP shooting and have borrowed a Springfield Trapdoor 45-70. I am about to handload my first BP cartridges. I will be using Pyrodex RS. Do I need magnum primers? I am planning to buy a LEE two cavity mould, any recommendations? Is it likely that I need lubecakes under the bullet or will i be fine just using Lyman BP Gold on the bullet?

country gent
06-29-2014, 07:30 PM
Ive never really worke with pyrodex just honest black powder, 2 f in doses to fill the case with slight compression ( 1/16" - 1/8") a lyman 457125 ( 510 grn roundnose), 535 grn postell or a brooks 500 grn Paper Patched bullet. I use these 3 bullets mostly. I have some PP cast from an old Ballard mold also. Heres how I am loading black powder rounds. Expand case necks enough to hand seat bullet, Prime with a consistent primer I use a primer wad under the primer. (newsprint or light aluminum foil). You want to experiment with diffrent primers right now I have a lot # of remingtons thats performing very well. Charge with powder. You can use a drop tube or pour in slowly thru a small caliber funnel. Insert wad ( playing cards, milk cartoons, felt, cork or gasket material) and lightly press down on powder With a die for compressing powder compress powder to allow bullet to set in place on wad by hand. With sizing die size just enough to hold bullet in place, my rounds the bullet can still be spun by hand. with the sizing die just lightly seat the bullet a few (.010) deeper now to insure everything is together with no airspace. Again this is Goex BLACK POWDER not pyrodex

PTS
06-29-2014, 08:19 PM