PDA

View Full Version : Casting Hollow points ?

boatswainsmate
06-27-2014, 01:11 AM
Hi,
I'm new to casting hollow points and was wondering if its ok to use mold release on the pins. Thanks in advance!

JeffinNZ
06-27-2014, 06:00 AM
You should have no need for any sort of release agent on the pins. Run the alloy HOT. Make sure the pins are smooth. Commence to pouring.

Beagle333
06-27-2014, 06:28 AM
Shine the pins up, pinch them between your fingers while holding them in some 800-1000 grit paper and spin slowly and make em smooth as glass. If they still stick, you can scribble on them, as if you were shading them dark, with a pencil. That will transfer some graphite to the pins and let the boolits drop easier and it also won't migrate to the cavities as any kind of oil or lube might do.

And I agree on the heat.... keep those pins hot! Cast fast and don't pause to admire or sort what you have dropped... keep that hot lead on those pins. That is the number one mistake of new HP casters..... it's hard not to stop and look at the shiny new HPs, even if it isn't perfect fillout, but that pause will only make your HP's get worse. There'll be plenty of time for sorting and looking after you are done.
Good luck!

dubber123
06-27-2014, 06:49 AM
One handy tip if it is an older style mold with a removable pin, is to drill a slightly larger than pin sized hole in a block of steel, aluminum, brass etc. and keep it on a running hot plate. When you take out the pin while casting, put it in the block. It will keep it much hotter than just laying it down between uses. You will get a lot less rejects.

knobster
06-27-2014, 07:03 AM
One handy tip if it is an older style mold with a removable pin, is to drill a slightly larger than pin sized hole in a block of steel, aluminum, brass etc. and keep it on a running hot plate. When you take out the pin while casting, put it in the block. It will keep it much hotter than just laying it down between uses. You will get a lot less rejects.