PDA

View Full Version : Let the hunt begin!!!

Patrick L
06-24-2014, 07:35 AM
Well its that time of year. I'm a school teacher by trade, and I spend a great deal of my summer vacation on the great lead hunt. As I wander around doing things with the kids, or on my part time job, I search out new out of the way tire shops and service shops and attempt to score. I generally end up with 7-8 five gallon buckets all told, which after sorting may get me about one or two buckets of good lead. Bring it on!

wrench
06-24-2014, 02:07 PM
LOL Patrick, I'm a teacher on summer break as well. I am always on the hunt for lead when I'm out and about, I never score as much as you do, though!

nagantguy
06-24-2014, 02:40 PM
If you both would care to on your break there are to scrape yards within bike distance of my humble home. All the lead you want fromnddad soft to ww to junk often already cast into blocks and labeled for right around a dollar a pound. Spend 200 bucks or so get what you want and spend more time casting and with the kids or casting with the kids.

bannor
06-24-2014, 03:19 PM
depending on age/responsibility, kids might not belong around casting. lead is a SKIN absorbing toxin. Gloves must be worn just to handle lead.

waksupi
06-24-2014, 03:32 PM
depending on age/responsibility, kids might not belong around casting. lead is a SKIN absorbing toxin. Gloves must be worn just to handle lead.

Or you could just wash your hands, like the rest of us.

Buck Neck It
06-24-2014, 04:25 PM
That is what ruined me, casting lead as a kid. I was instantly hooked.

nagantguy
06-24-2014, 10:31 PM
Wash after use/ exposer and don't eat or smoke while casting / handling and have good ventilation and you should be alright. Read a book bout a mountain man named Mr. Grimmes he kept his extra lead round balls in his mouth while hunting/ fighting. Guess no one told him lead was bad.

2ndAmendmentNut
06-25-2014, 07:46 AM