PDA

View Full Version : Winchester primers

lead chucker
06-22-2014, 06:33 PM
Hi. I just came into some small and large Rifle Winchester primers. I have never used them before. I have always used cci primers. Any one have a noticeable difference between the two. They were around $28.00 a brick. Here in Alaska I thought that was pretty good. The cci primers were $49.00 a brick. Seems like a big price difference. I hope Winchester primers are decent. When I say a brick that's 1000 primers.

Outpost75
06-22-2014, 06:35 PM
I much prefer the Winchester primers over CCI if I can get them.

TXGunNut
06-22-2014, 07:04 PM
I prefer Winchester primers over all others for pistol loads but have never used them for rifle loads, hope they work for you. For that price I'd probably try them. I've recently come back to RP primers for my rifle loads.

Yodogsandman
06-22-2014, 07:28 PM
Winchester primers for both rifle and pistol are all I use.

Shooter6br
06-22-2014, 07:45 PM
Tend to be harder . I get misfires with my Smith's

Dframe
06-22-2014, 08:00 PM
In the interest of uniformity and consistency I use Nothing but Winchester primers. They're readily available and in thousands of rounds they've never failed me.

mold maker
06-22-2014, 08:06 PM
At the C&E show yesterday, there were at least 4 dealers with good supplies of primers from CCI Winchester and a couple had imports. To my surprise there were also quiet a few dealers with 22 LR although the prices were still outrageous.
I didn't see anyone buying at those prices.

DeanWinchester
06-22-2014, 08:08 PM
It's the only primer I use in Large Rifle. In the last decade, I have yet to have a misfire. I'll have to be in a real bind before I use anything else for Large Rifle.

Petrol & Powder
06-22-2014, 08:12 PM
Never had a problem with Winchester primers.

GT27
06-22-2014, 08:26 PM
Concur,never any problems here!

TXGunNut
06-22-2014, 11:33 PM
Tend to be harder . I get misfires with my Smith's