PDA

View Full Version : Brand new to ML.. Need advice / help

Doublea
06-21-2014, 10:52 PM
I am brand new to muzzle loading. Been watching tons of vids on the net trying to learn as much as I can but most everything I see on line is using modern inline ML in .45 or .50 cal..... I was given a very nice NIB 1970's era TC Seneca in .54 caliber as payment for some work. I am very excited as I have always wanted to hunt with a ML. Went once 30 some odd years ago as a young boy scout but never had a chance to shoot:)
I have some questions I can not seem to find answers to.. Maybe someone here can help.
Am I limited to round balls for this firearm? Can I shoot conicals or Minie balls from this? Do I need or want to? Is the round ball perfectly suitable for deer hunting?
I plan to practice this summer and hopefully use it this fall for late season ML deer hunting in western NY.
Any advise for a newbie would be vastly appreciated.

mooman76
06-21-2014, 11:42 PM
Congrats on the gun and it seems to be a very good one that's hard to come by and usually at a high price. RBs are perfectly suitable for deer especially in the 54 cal area. You probably can also shoot conicals but it will depend on the twist rate of your gun as to how well they will perform. Pick up a book on black powder and read it, it will help you a lot. Modern inlines load basically the same as the older style MLs with some minor exceptions but are basically the same except they are designed more for sabots.

smoked turkey
06-21-2014, 11:57 PM