View Full Version : My new 6.5 Sweede

mattd
06-16-2014, 07:42 PM
Buts its still a 8mm Turk. Just got it in from gunbroker. $97 plus $35 for shipping. Good one to sportize cause its already been worked on....the bolts been turned, and nicely, not just a 90 degree bend. Scope mounts have been installed, sights removed and stock isn't in the best shape.

mattd
06-16-2014, 08:12 PM
Seems to be a lot of slop it the bolt. And not super smooth....maybe a good cleaning, maybe a little lapping.

heres link to video of it. Not sure if it will work....
http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f196/mattd1978/8fc7b2eff1b32cfeb041d04aaa1db7c5_zpscc2d519e.mp4

Mausermeister
06-16-2014, 10:33 PM
I built a couple of 6.5x55 rifles on Turk 38 actions back when new Swede surplus barrels were available cheap. Both are tack drivers.

mattd
06-16-2014, 10:57 PM
Got distracted....anyhow this is my first build so I'll need help. My first question is actually about the barrel. Midway has barrels for 80 bux that has good reviews, they call it an F14 contour. Can't figure out what that means....no one lists the dimensions. Otherwise leaning towards an er shaw barrel, but they say 'threaded and chambered for your action', nothing about it being short chambered. But its gotta be right?

TNsailorman
06-17-2014, 02:40 PM