PDA

View Full Version : Big lead stash is great till you have to move it

dnepr
06-12-2014, 07:53 PM
Moved my wheel weights and raw lead stash to the new house yesterday , about 400 to 450 lbs worth , also threw some steel into the truck , I am a hobby machinist, so I have a lot of scrap steel around.promised myself the next hobby will involve lighter stuff, origami, quilting , [smilie=l:

nagantguy
06-12-2014, 08:28 PM
Yep moved 3 times in last 5 years guns tools weights lead books. Then appliances and furniture. We pray our move here to hard luck acers farms will be the last.

C. Latch
06-12-2014, 08:42 PM
We moved a few days ago. I got a chuckle out of watching the movers pick up the little boxes of lead.

dragon813gt
06-12-2014, 09:06 PM
Not that a quarter ton is light. But just wait until you have to move a couple tons. Then you can really complain ;)

a.squibload
06-12-2014, 09:14 PM
About a year ago I took 1500 lbs of steel to the scrapyard.
Brought home lead, of course.

Saw an Aussie movie, these guys dug up a huge gold nugget, didn't want anyone to know.
Started melting it in an iron bathtub, left the heat on while gettin' some beer, tub leaked,
gold ran downhill & made a new nugget down the street.
So if you move downhill maybe this could help?

cdngunner
06-12-2014, 09:57 PM
Hmmm interesting post. I have managed to get over 700 lbs in the last 6 month and just the other day thought that the pile sure does not look like 700 lbs. I am starting to make wooden boxes for my stock which hold about 50 lbs each. The only way to go I think

evan price
06-13-2014, 05:00 AM
Grand total of almost 4000 pounds, two pallets of lead stacked two buckets high. Gawd, my back hurt for the entire weekend. Plus the smelter, the tools, the brass...moving sucks. Still don't have the shop set up. Getting the house set up first, figured I can work in the shop during winter.

smokeywolf
06-13-2014, 05:48 AM