PDA

View Full Version : COWW questions

sapper_eng
06-09-2014, 08:15 PM
Hey all.

I've found a large supply of coww with a local company that takes care of our fleet vehicles. They gave me around 100 pounds last week and said I can come back any time for as much as I'm able to carry. They usually sell them to a scrap yard (none of the scrap yards around here are willing to sell for one reason or another) at $0.50 per pound. I've got a few questions as I'm new to smelting / casting.

1) Is $0.50 a pound a good deal? I'm not sure what the going price is.
2) I plan on casting these weights into two different types of ammo. 185 Gr 0.311 for my Lee Enfield (need to get the barrel slugged to confirm) and Lead Shot for busting clay's. Do COWW make good lead shot?
3) I've got around 10 lbs of the stick on wheel weights. What should I do with these? If I smelt down 30 lbs at a time, would it be safe to toss in half a pound or a pound to extend the life of the coww?
4) I went through all of the weights, one by one, removing all of the zinc, steel and plastic weights. I noticed a few of the lead coww were quote a bit harder than others. Is this normal?

62chevy
06-09-2014, 08:34 PM
Price depends on location here in West Virginia you will pay over a dollar a pound up 1.75 a #. Some report paying .35 cents a pound so you see it just depends on where you live. 50 cents a # would be a blessing to me and you say no one will sell lead in your area so yes 50 cents would be a good deal for you.

Some like to mix their lead 50/50 Wheel Weights/soft lead.

Defcon-One
06-09-2014, 08:35 PM
1) Is $0.50 a pound a good deal? That is an OK deal. $0.10 - $0.30 a pound is a good deal where I am. I can get a 5 gal bucket of well over 100 pounds for $10.00 each at one shop. The guy up the street wants $30.00 for the same sized bucket. After sorting and smelting, it is always just over 100 lbs. of total lead.