PDA

View Full Version : 45ACP revolver

WALLNUTT
06-08-2014, 11:59 PM
I've got a Ruger New Vaquero on the way in 45ACP. I've never had a 45 so I' m starting with nothing. I was wondering what would be a good LEE mold to start with to make it easy on my pocket at first. Since it's a revolver I assume I won't be limited to just ACP type bullets. The TL line of molds all look like bevel base in pictures.I have no experience with BB. Will they shoot as well as flat base. I would like to stay with plain base. No GCs.

Dutchman
06-09-2014, 12:06 AM
Get the Lee clone of the HG68 200 gr SWC. My Smith & Wesson loves that bullet. If you don't care for bevel base (I don't) then look for the Lyman type of the 200 gr SWC. Excellent bullets in .45 acp.

I've shot up to 255 gr SWC in a .45 acp case out of a S&W .45 2nd Model Hand Ejector.

I've got one of the Lee Group Buy 6 cavity molds of the original Hensley & Gibbs No.68. It does not have a bevel base.

Dutch

Piedmont
06-09-2014, 03:52 AM
You can shoot 260 grains if you want, or 185 grain button nose wadcutters. Something to consider though, since that revolver has fixed sights is that it might be wise to regulate the sights for something about 230 grains. Your heavier bullets will hit high at 25 yds. and the lighter bullets will hit low. If it were mine, I would get a 230 grain mold and a truncated cone is a good compromise and you don't have to worry about feeding.

A bevel base will shoot well but if you are going to eventually use a conventional Lyman or RCBS lubrisizer the bevel base will cause problems with gooey bases. Even if you are a tumble luber at this time, you can tumble lube a conventional bullet with one or two lube grooves and it will still work fine.

mikeym1a
06-09-2014, 07:22 AM