PDA

View Full Version : RCBS bench mounted priming tool question - high primers?

jeff423
06-07-2014, 08:22 PM
Tonight I was starting to load some .41 mag cartridges. After priming five I noticed that the primers were not fully seated. They were just little high. I seated them again with a different priming tool to the proper depth. I was using a Lee shell holder because I don't currently have an RCBS #30 shell holder. Is that the reason? I have used this tool a lot but this is my first time with .41 mag and with high primers.

Jeff

Sweetpea
06-07-2014, 09:34 PM
It shouldn't make a difference...

BUT it wouldn't hurt to check!

bear67
06-07-2014, 10:33 PM
Jeff
I use the RCBS bench priming tool for all rifle and orphan pistol calibers (those not loaded on the progressives) and have never seen this problem. I have RCBS, Lyman, Lee, Herters, CH, Pacific and some orphan shell holders and I usually just grab one off of the shell holder rack and go to priming.
Could it be that these primer pockets have a little "carbon trash" in the edges? Good luck on finding the problem and correcting it. What brand primer were you using for these .41s.

texassako
06-07-2014, 10:52 PM
I have the RCBS bench priming tool. A high primer almost always means I have an issue with the primer pocket, primer pocket is fouled, or I did not lean on the handle enough. What brand of brass? I have noticed there is a distinct feel for each brand of brass, and try to separate brands when priming. A couple of cases into a job and you get a feel for how much pressure the handle needs. I am in the habit of running my finger across the base of each case after priming, and I can usually tell when I am going to feel a high primer before removing a case from the tool.

jeff423
06-07-2014, 11:49 PM