PDA

View Full Version : Favorite lyman 4500 lube for 44 mag and 357 mag

Tom_in_AZ
06-06-2014, 11:09 PM
So I am relatively new to casting. I have done some tumble lubing for my 357 mag with the Alex, Johnson's paste wax, and mineral spirits. I just purchased a lyman 4500 and wanted your opinions on what lube to make/buy for it. I am looking to push a 44 mag 250ish keith bullet, plain base to 1200-1300 fps. Also a 170 keith style plain base bullet in my 357 to 1100-1200 fps.

Should I just buy a certain commercial stick lube and slap it in there or make my own?

Thanks in advance!!!

Beagle333
06-06-2014, 11:24 PM
Under 1600 fps, any reasonable lube will work if you have a boolit big enough to seal the throat. You can buy some sticks of any lube that you want to try, or you can experiment with making some of your own, if you like.
You aren't pushing the limits. :cool:

Tom_in_AZ
06-06-2014, 11:40 PM
Yeah, not doing anything crazy yet. Saw a lot of good things about ben's red. Anyone know if I can make this and then mold it into a stick for for the 4500?

Sweetpea
06-06-2014, 11:48 PM
Yes, that's been done. If you search, you will find threads, or youtube videos about making your own sticks.

Of course, you could always just melt it, and pour in the sizer...

Tom_in_AZ
06-06-2014, 11:53 PM
Anybody have a favorite stick recipe that they use? There are so many on here that I don't know where to start!

Tom_in_AZ
06-07-2014, 12:14 AM
I also haven't used the 4500 yet, still in the mail. I see the sticks have to be hollow? So I can't just make a batch of lube and spoon it in there? I have to mold it into a hollow stick?

RobS
06-07-2014, 01:24 AM