PDA

View Full Version : Making a hand for a Colt I Frame revolver.......

philthephlier
05-29-2014, 06:11 PM
I have a milling machine and I know just enough about how to use it to maybe pull this off. I am primarily a blackpowder gunsmith and I have built about 160 custom rifles and pistols when I was an active builder. I made about 1/2 dozen locks from scratch just to learn what was involved. I know what has to happen and I have successfully made replacement gun parts for people that couldn't find a factory replacement. But I haven't made a replacement hand which is a high stress part in a double action revolver. I have no doubt that the master Colt armorers are doing this for guns because they keep them running when there are no longer factory parts available. I also know I will pay several hundred dollars to have one made and then fit to a Colt Official Police. The gun still works fine but doesn't carry up all the way on two chambers. The cylinder will lock up on those if the gun is cocked quickly but not if the hammer is drawn back very slowly on those 2 chambers. I have read I can stretch the hand on a one time basis in Kuhnhausen's book but if not done right the hand will crack in the process. Then I don't have a shooter anymore at all. So my question is what steel do I use? And any other advice will be greatly appreciated.

Three44s
05-29-2014, 06:39 PM
Hello,

Found this:

http://www.gunpartscorp.com/ad/1369490.htm#1369490A

Am I anywhere's close?

Best regards and good luck

Three 44s

philthephlier
05-29-2014, 07:02 PM
Wow!! You probably just saved me a ton of work.

philthephlier
05-30-2014, 05:00 PM
Any tips on fitting the reproduction hand to my Colt Official Police will be greatly appreciated.

Three44s
05-31-2014, 10:23 AM
Glad to help out ....... but no ideas on getting it fitted.

Good luck and good shooting!

Three 44s

akajun
05-31-2014, 08:45 PM