PDA

View Full Version : Lortone tumblers

DanM
01-12-2008, 09:51 AM
Anybody else using one? Mine is a QT6 model, and has been rolling along for over 20 years. I don't know exactly how old it is, but do remember paying just over $40 for it. Bought it at a family owned jewelry store that catered to rockhounds. Interesting store, in that all employees were packing iron in open carry. Friendly place, and I don't think they were ever troubled by banditos. My experience tells me Lortone is tip top....

montana_charlie
01-12-2008, 12:51 PM
I use the QT-12. Bought it 'used' on eBay, and am very satisfied with it.
I have never used the 'liquid and ceramic' media, so I am curious about how well it would hold in all that water. But I'll cross that bridge if I ever reach it. I'm still happy running walnut shell and Bon Ami, with a little mineral spirits.
CM

bobthenailer
01-12-2008, 05:52 PM
i have been using my QT -6 for 30 years and the only thing i ever replaced was the belt one time . i wash my casings every time i shoot them ,so i guesstimate ive cleaned at least 700,000 casings or more in that time. about a year ago i picked up a slightly used QT- 12 for $25.00 and it allready has about 10,000 to its credit. for my cleaning soultion i use 1/2 oz joy dish washing detergent and a 1/2cup bb gun bbs and the rest water thats what ive used for 30 years and it works excellent!i tumbel my fired casings for 1 hour ,thats all that is needed. i also have a dillon vibratory for the as new final polish with corn cob and flitz polish but its uaually not needed. bob

Orygun
01-12-2008, 06:33 PM
Not sure which model that I have, but it's been doing well for many, many years. It has 2 sides which is nice if you want to do different calibers at the same time.

I have settled on corn cob with a little mineral spirits and a dryer sheet.

longhorn
01-13-2008, 11:50 PM