PDA

View Full Version : Starting up what do I need?

cpttango30
01-12-2008, 02:07 AM
Hello all. I am new to the board and looking to start casting some time soon. I have been reloading for about 26 years so far. Right now I have one caliber I would be casting for 45acp. I like the 200gr I have been shooting 200gr Laser Cast but they are getting way to spendy for me. I have access to a 55 gal drum full to the top of used shotgun shot So i have some start up lead.

What I really need to know is what is the basics for starting into casting boolits?
Do I need a separate press to size newly cast bullets? I have a RCBS RS5 press I reload on. Also how do you get the lube on the bullets? Can you give me a book that would go threw the steps of doing it.
Here is what I am looking at right now.

Lee Melter Furnace 110 Volt
Lee 4-Cavity Ingot Mold with Handle
Lee Lead Dipper
Lee Commercial Bullet Mold Handles for 6-Cavity Lee Bullet Molds
Lee 6-Cavity Bullet Mold 452-200-RF 452 Diameter 200 Grain Flat Nose
DGL Bullet Lube 12 oz Tub
Frankford Arsenal Drop Out Bullet Mold Release Agent and Lube 6 oz Aerosol

Buckshot
01-12-2008, 05:24 AM
Hello all. I am new to the board and looking to start casting some time soon. I have been reloading for about 26 years so far. Right now I have one caliber I would be casting for 45acp. I like the 200gr I have been shooting 200gr Laser Cast but they are getting way to spendy for me. I have access to a 55 gal drum full to the top of used shotgun shot So i have some start up lead.

That barrel of shot will be a start.

What I really need to know is what is the basics for starting into casting boolits?

Heat. Something to hold the heated lead and something to pour the heated lead into. 'Bout as simple as that. Your list below looks fine.

Do I need a separate press to size newly cast bullets?

Well no, not like you're thinking. You DO use a reloading press with the Lee type push through dies, but they don't lube.