PDA

View Full Version : After market STEEL Lee turret press parts

AggiePharmD
05-11-2014, 11:46 AM
Is anybody making no plastic parts? Specifically parts for turret presses.

A pause for the COZ
05-13-2014, 03:45 AM
I have not seen any. I think MR LEE would give some one a good legal butt whoopin if they did.
I have heard they protect their patents pretty vigorously. Boy but if LEE offered a Upgrade kit for a price.
I would be in.

mdi
05-13-2014, 11:39 AM
Upgrade for what? I've been using my Lee old style turret for mebbe 12+ years. I disabled the auto-index 11 3/4 years ago (I believe the small plastic gizmo is a "sacrificial" part, it'll break before any damage happens to other parts of the press). I have reloaded every thing from 9mm up to 30-06 quite successfully. I have sized at least 5,000 bullets on my Lee turret (I have one turret full of Lee push through dies). I haven't broken anything on my press prolly 'cause I know how to use hand tools and don't act like a gorilla trying to smash a coconut with my press. So, what needs improvement with a steel/iron part? :confused:

angus6
05-13-2014, 12:14 PM
Is anybody making no plastic parts? Specifically parts for turret presses.

Used the Lee Classic Turret for several years ,There are no plastic parts on it that need to be steel that I could see , care to share what parts you feel need changed ?

AggiePharmD
05-13-2014, 12:36 PM
First off I'm no gorilla as far as working with hand tools and I respect my presses as well. I am referring to the plastic clamp and small plastic square within that guides up and down the rod that rotates the turret. It seems to me that at least the one or both of those parts could be a bit stronger. I've had the little square slip out of its holding area inside the big clamp while using the machine at a normal pace.

LeftyDon
05-13-2014, 12:46 PM