PDA

View Full Version : Need help with an old shotgun

bambibuster25-06
01-07-2008, 01:22 AM
I have got an old shotgun. It appears to be about a 12 gadge. It has outside hammers but is not a flintlock. On the rib in between the side-by-side barrels (written in gold wire) is "HIGNY & TUSHAUS BREVTES A LIEGE". The stock (at one time) appears to have been of a fancy grade. The barrels are not of the damascus type. I have pictures, and have included one. But I have more, closer up if needed.

NVcurmudgeon
01-07-2008, 02:32 AM
bambi, welcome to the board. I am far from an expert. "Brevetes A Liege" means patented in Liege, Belgum. I don't see an underlever or top lever, and it appears to have had a ramrod at one time, so it must be a muzzleloader. Are there any other marks? Under the barrels? We are near neighbors.

bambibuster25-06
01-07-2008, 09:12 PM
Hey NVcurmudgeon,
We are pretty near neighbors! Yes, it is a muzzleloader. Percussion type. The ramrod is missing. No other marking that I have found, just what is on the rib between the barrels. The stock was (is) real fancy with nice grain and the metal work was (is) very well done, telling me that is not a military type firearm. And since it does not have damascus barrels, I'm guessing that it was made in the middle to late 1800's. I afraid to do much cleaning on it as I might wreck any collectors value. And it is not a "shooter" any more. The barrels appear to be very thin walled. Blackpowder gun only. Here are a couple of more pictures of it.

NVcurmudgeon
01-07-2008, 11:33 PM
Nice looking gun. You can probably make a replica ramrod from a dowel and have an elegant wallhanger.

Buckshot
01-08-2008, 04:33 AM