PDA

View Full Version : Colt Official Police misfires

Battis
05-02-2014, 09:53 PM
I've been reloading rounds for a 1949 Colt Official Police .38 (fairly new to reloading). I've been using DEWC bullets, Red Dot and CCI primers. I'd say at least half of the reloads need two hammer hits to ignite. Every factory round fires on the first strike, so it must be my reloading, not the gun.
I was told that CCI primers are made from harder metal. I bought some Winchester primers that I'm going to try.
Is the answer as simple as just seating the primers deeper?

lefty o
05-02-2014, 10:26 PM
primers need to be seated to the bottom of the pocket. if not seated, the first strike of the hammer seats them, but absorbs enough of the impact that the primer doesnt fire.

HeavyMetal
05-02-2014, 10:52 PM
Your problem is the CCI primers most I've used a very hard but Remington SP are really hard!

Winchester or Federal are my got to primers when ever I can find them.

Try a primer change and see if that works, about seating primers deeper: Ues a Lee hand tool to prime some case's and you'll "feel" the primer bottom out in the case.

Now for the bad news: most primer pockets are not as deep as they should be! Buy a primer pocket uniforming tool, not a cleaner, and see how much brass comes out of a stock primer pocket.

You'll find your primers are now going to seat in that case in the much talked about " just under the case head" suggested by all the gun rag reloading "experts"!

Trying to ram the primer into the pocket will just give you deformed primers and maybe a bang for you efforts, LOL!

Try different primers until you get the ignition you want!

Naphtali
05-02-2014, 10:55 PM
Does the same problem occur when firing factory 38 Special ammunition? I ask because I owned the same model. The mainspring-rebound lever was improperly tuned. The result was frequent light hits on primers.

Battis
05-03-2014, 07:20 AM