PDA

View Full Version : Garand loads ? ...

Digger
04-29-2014, 09:44 PM
For the Knowledgeable gentlemen , Just a thought here .. been working on loads for my "tanker" garand in .308 , (was anyway.)
Work has caught up with me so little time lately.
Compared to a normal length barrel , would the shorter action affect my loads as to amount of powder , burn rate , boolit weight , etc. ?
been contemplating this lately ....
thanks
digger

AlaskaMike
05-07-2014, 06:32 PM
Well, since there's no replies and it's been over a week, I'll go ahead and give you my $0.02.

I have no experience with the tanker Garands, but I would think the shorter barrel would definitely change the port pressure compared to a standard length Garand. Will it be enough to make a noticeable difference? I have no clue.

You'll probably just have to test it out and see.

madsenshooter
05-07-2014, 09:08 PM
It's for sure going to effect pressure on the op rod. Someone with quickload could give you some estimates based on barrel length to the port.

fatelvis
05-07-2014, 09:18 PM
How long is a tanker length barrel?

Digger
05-07-2014, 10:25 PM
Thanks for the input gents .... I will have to get it out and measure this week end .
It is an Arlington Ordinance tanker , was starting to develop some loads but have been distracted.
Did notice that some of the lower gr loads were functioning "normal" with how it was tossing the brass.

madsenshooter
05-08-2014, 11:05 AM