PDA

View Full Version : best foreseeable pistol cartridge for nonshooter

nekshot
04-29-2014, 11:34 AM
I recently was asked what caliber should this non hunter, nonshooter get strictly for the comfort they have home protection. I immediatly said 9mm. Then I got to thinking about what is the military using and if there is any truth to that mountain of 40 caliber ammo that govt ordered for home land security and started rethinking my answer. For the future it might be the 40, what say ye of more understanding than me? And for those who wonder what pistol I recommended, shame me all you want but I said HiPoint!

CastingFool
04-29-2014, 11:49 AM
HiPoint, for the money, are a pretty good value. They warrant their guns even to the 3rd owner, and their customer service dept. is supposed to be very good.

tazman
04-29-2014, 11:53 AM
I have no experience with the HiPoint so cannot comment on that.
As for the home defense for a non shooter I would have recommended a shotgun. Probably a 20 gauge as they are relatively easy to handle. Easier to hit what you are trying to without spraying boolits all over the neighborhood.

imashooter2
04-29-2014, 11:58 AM
Non shooters looking for a home protection firearm should get a full size steel .38 Special +P capable DA revolver due to the simplicty of operation and easily manageable recoil.

dubber123
04-29-2014, 12:06 PM
Non shooters looking for a home protection firearm should get a full size steel .38 Special +P capable DA revolver due to the simplicty of operation and easily manageable recoil.

If it has to be a hand gun, I agree fully with this. If not, I often recommend a pump action shotgun.

sandman228
04-29-2014, 01:15 PM