PDA

View Full Version : I'm a REAL machinist now :-)

Buckshot
01-06-2008, 03:39 AM
http://www.fototime.com/12375D46A9E5AEF/standard.jpg

I feel so accomplished :-) My lovely daughter volunteered me to check out a co-workers old Remington M12 (I think) pump 22RF rifle. How do ya say no to your one and only? Externally the rifle shows it's age. It's not abused but wasn't the best kept up either. The bore is trashed. What I thought was leading was active rust. Big clumps of it. Bummer. Had a split in the wrist from the rear of the action back maybe 3". Got that taken care of.

Now the fun part. It was missing one of the 2 pump handle screws. I didn't know it then, but I know now that James Wisener sells these for I think $2 each. Oh well. Why do I feel so accomplished? As close as I could tell checking the less then wonderfull threads on the one remaining screw, is that they're 42 TPI. My QC box on the lathe skips that one.

I finally got to swap out some gears :-) HA! So by putting a 37 tooth on the stud with a 48 tooth on the QC box, left lever at 'C' and the right lever under what is labeled '56', I get 42 TPI (snapping fingers). This was a first for me.

Plus, doing these weensy threads I had to use a magnifying glass when I ran the carriage back to the beginning to find the start point. When closing the half nuts you could only crank in maybe 1 or 2 thou at a time. What tedium! Naturally the threads are done last so all the other fiddly stuff could go down the tubes if those are messed up.

Anyway, I got it made. It screwed in smoothly and snugged up fine. Too bad about the barrel though, as it looks like it'd be a fun rifle to shoot.

..................Buckshot

Bret4207
01-06-2008, 09:20 AM
Have him send it off to Redman for a liner. IME 22's often shoot better with lined barrels than in original. No idea why.

01-06-2008, 12:21 PM
Congrats on the nice work Buckshot. I'm with Brett, go with the liner.

danski26
01-06-2008, 04:39 PM