PDA

View Full Version : 44 Mag bullet mould need one free / or really cheap

Bigjake560
04-27-2014, 12:00 AM
Hey Guys, (and ladies)

Im working on a project and have almost run out of money. Im in need of a 44 mag Mold (.430/.429). at this point im not really picky on the size/weight I just need something so i can finish this project. any advice or help in locating something for this would be great.

im working on building a wildcat round and have bought everything i need and the only things i have left to finish the rifle is some 308 brass and some 44 Mag molds.

Again any help on where i can get these items would be great but please keep in mind im a full time student so im limited on the amount of funds i have to spend.

Thank you.
-Jake

bruce381
04-27-2014, 01:50 AM
maybe ebay but lee molds are <$20 at titan relaoding supply.

Slow Elk 45/70
04-27-2014, 02:08 AM
Like the man said, lee makes a couple of 240 gr and a 214 Gr +- with a set of handles ....$18-20 depending on where you buy them, it doesn't get any cheaper than that...good luck...Jim

shunka
04-27-2014, 03:13 AM
If you look around you can probably find a used Lee Mold for less than the new price of $20. One can take a smaller mold, like a .38 and
open it up with a lathe, mill or drill press to make a larger "custom" bullet.

there are are at least 3 colleges in Columbus Ga.
Go talk to your mechanical engineering dept, try to make friends in the "model shop(s)" .
check out your better equipped technical colleges or high schools. Some even offer night courses in the metal shops.
Somewhere, your college ought to have a "bench lathe" and somebody who knows how to use it.

Worst case scenario, you can make a "lost wax" mold and get anywhere from one to three bullets out of it.
google is your friend , in fact use this site's search feature for making molds, you *will* find a lot!

A youngster who goes by "Busyhands" made his own molds out of scrap with only a borrowed drillpress, so