PDA

View Full Version : Need Help need custom made bullet mold for 44 Mag

Bigjake560
04-26-2014, 11:31 PM
Im working on building a wildcat round and am in need of some help with a custom bullet mound. I have been looking into trying to make one for my self. however im a full time college student and have been trying every web sight i can find through google but cant find any way of making the mold i need with out large tools. I dont have a lot to spend on this and every place that i have found wants like a 175 set up fee and then another 25 for the mold I dont have 200 :( i can spend on a mold.

If anyone can give me some idea of how to make one with out having all the large tools (Lathe, Mill those kind of things) or know of someone who will not charge me an arm and a leg that would be great.

Thanks.
Jake.

freebullet
04-27-2014, 12:53 AM
Welcome to the forum.
You cant buy the tools to do it for that. There are enough calibers suitable for any use that I would caution you to wait on Wildcats till your budget/experience allows.

RobS
04-27-2014, 01:13 AM
A custom mold will not cost you that much. www.accuratemolds.com
www.mountainmolds.com These two are just two companies. You are limited only to their tooling capabilities which is really not very restricted.

A single or double cavity mold is $100 or less.

I've had these two great mold makers build me molds from my own bullet design on many occasions. Tom at Accurate Molds and Dan at Mountain Molds are two top notch craftsmen and their customer service is of the best in any business.

shunka
04-27-2014, 03:08 AM
there are are at least 3 colleges in Columbus Ga.
Go talk to your mechenical engineering dept, try to makes freinds in the "physical plant" or model shop(s).
Somewhere, your college ought to have a "bench lathe" and somebody who knows how to use it.

Worst case scenario, you can make a "lost wax" mold and get anywhere from one two three bullets out of it.