PDA

View Full Version : 'Nother Rookie Question

histed
04-20-2014, 09:08 PM
I slugged my 357 barrel and got a slug measuring 358 on the widest part (lands?). My 158 gr TL 358-158 boolits, measured with a micrometer, are 3585. Shooting 38 Spcl with a pinch of BE I get no lead, but today I tried pushing 357s with 10 grs of Blue Dot and started to get leading. My guess is that I need a large diameter boolit. The alloy I'm using is 50/50 pure lead and COWW. I'm tumble lubing with 50/50 LLA/JPW. I only shot 50 rounds today, but did get lead. Question is - how can I change my alloy to get the boolits to drop bigger? I see some here using similar molds but reporting boolits as large as .359, so it seems it can be done. I'd like to be able to hunt with this load come fall, so any advice is welcome.

NewbieDave007
04-20-2014, 10:56 PM
I'm new to all this but I think more antimony fattens them up. Hopefully one of the experienced guys will come along and tell us for sure.

62chevy
04-20-2014, 11:09 PM
Like NewbieDave007 I was thinking more antimony. The other option would be to Beagle the mold. Tell us what mold you are using and maybe the whiz kids will set us straight.

44Vaquero
04-20-2014, 11:33 PM
Bigger is not the issue, they need to be a little harder! 10 grains of Blue Dot is a near max load over 1400 fps! For comparison BullEye max load in .38 158gr does not exceed 950 fps. Try water dropping the current lead mix and back down from 10 grains of Blue Dot and see what happens.

As a side note: I have never really had great luck driving Lee Tumble Lube's super fast. YMMV

Slow Elk 45/70
04-21-2014, 04:04 AM