PDA

View Full Version : Gas Checks Horndy vs Lyman

Dennis Eugene
01-01-2008, 10:58 PM
Of all things I was sizeing some 45 cal bullets when I ran out of Gas checks I finished up with what I had then got on the 'puter to order some more from, Midway. Found the Hornadays on sale for $31.99 K down from $35.49. Also found Lyman GC at $42.99K. I have always used Hornadays and just was wondering is there something I'm missing here, are the Lymans superier in any way to warrent the higher cost? Thanks for your time Dennis Eugene

Shiloh
01-01-2008, 11:05 PM
There are many references to this subject both here and on some of the other gun boards.
It is reported that the Lyman checks are made by Hornady.

Shiloh

bobkimball
01-02-2008, 10:28 AM
I am new to casting and Gas Checks.
I use a Lyman 450 and have a Gas Check Seater.
Do I need to seat all gas checks first and then remove the seater guide?
Then would I size and lube the bullets?
Any help is appreciated.
Bob K

KCSO
01-02-2008, 12:57 PM
I usually seat my checks by hand and just run them through the sizer. It kinda depends on how tight the checks fit some just push on and some neeed a good squeeze to seat them.

NVcurmudgeon
01-02-2008, 12:59 PM
I am new to casting and Gas Checks.
I use a Lyman 450 and have a Gas Check Seater.
Do I need to seat all gas checks first and then remove the seater guide?
Then would I size and lube the bullets?
Any help is appreciated.
Bob K

Some do exactly as you said. I have never used the GC seater, but I always size, lube, and apply GC in one fell swoop. That works most of the time, when the GC is a good fit on the GC shank of the boolit. If not, annealing and/or expanding the GC is needed before seating them.

carpetman
01-02-2008, 01:29 PM