PDA

View Full Version : Getting a hard rust colored buildup in my Lee pot.....

Bill in Ky
04-10-2014, 04:31 PM
New to casting and wondering if I am doing something wrong. This hard buildup can be chipped out with a screwdriver but its difficult. What is this stuff and where is it coming from. I am using WW. The buildup is down
by the heating element.
Thanks in advance for any help, This is a great site..

Calamity Jake
04-10-2014, 09:01 PM
What are you fluxing with?

Bill in Ky
04-11-2014, 04:32 AM
Remember, I'm new to casting. From what I have read here, this is my procedure... I melted my WW, skimmed all the stuff off, got the metal pieces out them cut up some flakes off a candle and put it in and let it burn. I then skimmed again and cast my ingots. Then yesterday, I remelted come ingots, skimmed what little was there and put more candle in. As the molten lead got lower in the pot this brown stuff started coming to the top, so I skimmed it. When I finished molding, not more than 100 9mm's there was this buildup around the bottom of the pot that I knocked out with a screwdriver.

Bill in Ky
04-11-2014, 06:15 AM
I found a thread over on Cast Boolits titled "Wheel Weight Conundrum - HELP NEEDED" . The man there is having the same problem as I am and there are several reply's to his questions.
Thanks...

Calamity Jake
04-11-2014, 03:57 PM
You have to sture(MS) the pot as the candle is melting just letting it burn off is not doing anything.

gwpercle
04-11-2014, 05:29 PM
You have to sture(MS) the pot as the candle is melting just letting it burn off is not doing anything.
I believe Jake meant to type Stir. Use some wood shavings along with that candle wax, stir it up well , skim all impurities and you may have to do it 2 or 3 times to get all the impurities out. I mean separate fluxing along with stirring and skimming . Depends on how dirty the metal is and wheel weights are usually very grungy.