PDA

View Full Version : Next dumb idea: BP .45 Colt SHOTSHELLS! (?)

JuliettDeltaGolf
04-08-2014, 10:17 PM
OK. I am tired of missing fast-moving rats at point-blank range. I'm absolutely overrun with the vermin. They chew up plastic and cardboard boxes, welder leads, and power cords in my outdoor welding shop (a temporary affair, in which I make my living). Most shots are at a range of 5 to 10 feet, with an occasional shot out to about 25'.
Was wondering if anyone has ever successfully loaded .45 shotshells with the holy black. I normally load exclusively FFFg in my normal cast boolit loads, but I have a can of Goex FFFFg laying around. I was thinking if was extremely limited in powder capacity in the case, I could use the 4f for a higher power-to-volume ratio. As to the actual construction of the cartridge, here's some idees I bin throwin' around:

I want a shotshell that is as effective as possible at the ranges mentioned earlier. A maximum load of shot, up to 250 grs. worth, with enough velocity to get the job done.

I don't know what size shot to get, but I like the idee of #11 or #12.

My gunsmith neighbor suggests a simple load of the heathen smokeless under a gas check, shot, and crimped over a second, inverted gas check. Sounds simple, leaves little room for powder, with a limited shot payload.

Speer shot capsules. Maybe. Sound like they can be a pain, backing out of the cases from recoil, breaking under a crimp that's the slightest bit heavy. Not sure how it would stand up to BP burn?

Here's the crazy idees:

Use .460 S&W brass, and at some point in loading, sizing the part that needs to go in the chamber throat in a smaller (.44?) sizing die, so as to fit in the throat.