PDA

View Full Version : Shiloh Sharps .45 2-7/8 help needed

mudpup
04-07-2014, 03:15 PM
I'm a veteran smokeless reloader, including casting, but am new to this forum and to BPCR loading and shooting in general. I sure could use some help. I inherited a Shiloh Sharps several years ago and want to get serious about loading for it. My barrel slugs right at 0.458" and of course want to use bullets sized for that bore. I've heard Shiloh chambers can be tight, but MAN this thing is TIGHT. What's the trick? I have tried cut-down .45-120 brass fireformed and inside neck reamed. No go. I've tried Starline .45 2.6" brass extruded to 2.875" ditto on the inside neck reaming. No go. With both of these case configurations it will barely chamber 0.456" bullets and that's only after running the loaded round back through my sizing die (Yeah I KNOW you should never do that). Starline .45 2.6" cases work fine with the 0.458" bullets but I hate to shoot short cases in the gun. Do I need to turn the outside of the necks? Is there a better case to use? I cannot be the only guy out there with this problem? I apologize for my stupidity and throw myself on the mercy of this forum.

Sincerely,

Befuddled and bewildered

Red River Rick
04-07-2014, 03:48 PM
Do a chamber cast...............that'll tell you most of what you want to know.

RRR

BruceB
04-07-2014, 04:05 PM
Based on my personal experience with the Shiloh Rifle Company.... CALL SHILOH!

They are very helpful with rifle problems.

At the very least, they should have some suggestions, and they may very well suggest that you send the rifle to them for examination and possible repair.... likely at VERY low cost (if any).

They build the rifles, and they KNOW the rifles. Give them a chance at resolving the difficulty. Groping around here might do the trick, but the chances are far better with Shiloh.

Don McDowell
04-07-2014, 04:18 PM
I am wondering if you got ahold of a "paper patch" chamber?