PDA

View Full Version : 7mm Contender load problem.

HABCAN
12-31-2007, 07:42 PM
I'm not new to reloading: I started in '47, but I am fairly new to cast boolits in rifle calibers. So far I've been lucky with the boolit loads for the M1 and the L/E #5. But boolits in my 7mm barrels for my Contender have me stumped. J-words, no problem. LEE "130 gr." no problem. It's the RCBS 165 SIL that is driving me nuts. I have a 10" 7mmTC/U, and a 14" 7-30 Waters. Testing so far has only been in my basement at 7 yards, but no matter what I try after reading all your wonderful pointers, that damned boolit still keyholes at even that short range. My Lyman #47 says the 10" TC/U is twisted 1/10", the 14" 7-30 at 1/9", which seems odd: I would have thought TC would just make a common 7mm barrel and chamber as req'd? Both std. bull barrels have 8-groove rifling, TC factory iron sights. Everything shoots to POA, but that RCBS hits skewed every time.

Both boolits cast quite heavy in my WDWW alloy, and neither nose will enter either muzzle. I stuck them into the throats until they contacted the rifling and they are oversize, in fact as-cast, the cartridges won't chamber unless boolits are sized .284. That "165" RCBS weighs in at about 185grs.!

I have sized/lubed/GC'd in the Lyman lubrisizer, and then applied a coating of mule snot LLA. Boolits were seated so as to just clear the rifling. I have tried loads using 700x (bad), 296 (good), SR4759 (huge blue flash), 4227 (good), etc. I have avoided Unique simply because I can never get it to meter reliably. Maybe I should weigh some charges and try that? The TC/U doesn't care whether I use Standard Small Rifle or Standard Small Pistol primers, and I used Standard Large Rifle in the 7-30. NONE of the loads tried produced undue fouling or any leading whatsoever.