PDA

View Full Version : Just getting started: Assumptions and Shopping list

Landshark9025
04-02-2014, 01:15 PM
Hey all, I am just getting started into casting and I want to make sure my initial assumptions are correct. Boolits will be for a S&W mod 66 revolver w/ 4" bbl. I am fairly new to reloading in general and have only run about 2,500 rounds in combinations of 125g plated FP, 158g SWC, and 158g plated SWC. I liked the accuracy with the hard cast 158g SWC with Bullseye best, but not the mess created by the wax lube.
I have read the Lyman Reloading manual, Lee Reloading manual, Lyman Casting manual and the Glen Fryxell books. So, I kind of have a clue, but not much more than that.
Usually consume about 300-500 rounds per month. Mostly into paper or steel. Small chance of doing any hunting with them around here.

For cast boolit lube, I would like to try the Bayou Bullets coating as that seems to be a little easier to get set up with than powder coating and is supposed to be less messy than Alox.

I slugged my barrel and cylinders last night by melting fishing weights into 38spl cases and then driving those through (just the slug, not the casing). For the barrel I went all the way down and it seemed pretty consistent in effort level once it was started. No perceptible binding.
Barrel: .356
Cylinders: .357 - .3575

For lead I have purchased about 140lbs of COWW from Jetsfan.

For my shopping list, I will likely be getting a lot of Lee products to start due to low initial investment. I can always up the mold quality later. I have a Lee turret and Lee dies for pistol and rifle and they have served me well. I will be sizing on the turret as that is the only press I have at present.

For the furnace, I am thinking the 20lb Lee Pro 4 bottom pour.