PDA

View Full Version : Which One?

Blackhawk Kid
03-29-2014, 09:26 PM
Howdy, I'm new to casting my own bullets. I want a furnace. Which is your favorite, and WHY? Thanks:-)

Vinne
03-29-2014, 10:35 PM
I use the Lee 20lb bottom pour and am very happy with it. It holds a lot for any casting section I care to work and can handle double and 6 bangers just as easy. Keep it clean and it should last a lifetime.

runfiverun
03-30-2014, 12:16 AM
as far as cost goes it's worth the money to get the LEE 20 lb'er. [80-90 bucks]
the LEE ten lb'er has it's uses for single cavity molds and such but it just won't cut it for a 4-5-6 cavity mold. [50-60 bucks]
stepping up to the rcbs/lyman [if it's made yet] is a whole nother world.
they run 2-300.00 sumthin
after that you have the magma 40 pound pot which requires you to make your own stand but can run all day if you keep it topped off with 1-2 pound ingots while casting [they won't affect the pots temp]
not cheap though.

dikman
03-30-2014, 02:23 AM
I can only comment on the RCBS, 'cos that's all I have, but I'm very happy with it. Not cheap though, it all depends on whether you can afford to indulge yourself with one. Over there (in the 'States) the Lee 20 lb is very good value and I don't see how you can go wrong with one at the asking price.

DaveInFloweryBranchGA
03-30-2014, 03:53 AM
If you're new to casting, you probably need to know you'll need both a way to clean your lead (smelting) and make ingots, then you'll need a separate pot (furnace) to melt your lead and make boolits with (casting).

There's lots of information on the forums here, both new and old posts, but if you're new, you'll want to do a search on "smelting" and another search on "casting." Then read up on both processes and how they work.

Hope this helps you,

GunFun
03-30-2014, 05:19 AM