PDA

View Full Version : so confused

hound-1
03-26-2014, 09:42 PM
hello all, I'm new at casting, but have been reloading for over 35 years, and after reading and reading a lil'more , I have a boolet and load that shoot awesome in all my 30/30s . A NOE 165 gr GC ranch dog copy sized .311 , followed by 27 gr RX 7, I get about a 1.5" at 100 yards, I'm averaging 2113 fps through my cronie with no leading. My confusion starts with my alloy, which is air cooled Lyman #2 from roto metals. I plan on using this on PA whitetails, from what I've read its hard-wont expand,x-fer energy, ect. and I'll need something a lil'softer.I've killed a lot of deer with the 30/30 and 35 rem with Jacked bullets to know that a 20-50 yard dash with a lot of blood is the norm. What can I expect on a behind the shoulder lung shot at woods range with what I'm now shooting, a pin hole and a long spotty blood trail, or similar to what I'm now using .What hardness should I be looking for, or don't it really mater. Air cooled , water quenched, tin, antimony ,linotype, OH MY , all I really want to do is make accurate boolets that work for my intended purpose, a clean kill on Deer . Thanks all....Ed a confused noobie

richhodg66
03-26-2014, 09:51 PM
The advice I was given was Wheel weights, add 2% tin and then mix that 50/50 with pure. I've shot three deer now with .30 caliber cast and that seems to be good advice in my experience, though none of mine showed real significant expansion or blood trails. None of them went far, however.

That Ranchdog bullets is a good one, I used it in a .308 last year to take a nice buck.

runfiverun
03-26-2014, 09:53 PM
easiest way I know to find out is to try it.
test it out on a media of some sort like wet news paper.
compare it to a jaxketed bullet.
that's what I had/have to do when I swaging my own bullets.

Wolfer
03-26-2014, 09:59 PM
I've shot several deer with a much softer boolit at 1700 fps with good expansion and terminal results.