PDA

View Full Version : How do I use Lyman 450 with gas chk?

bobkimball
12-27-2007, 01:11 PM
I am brand new to casting bullets.
I have a Lyman 450 lube machine and the gas check seater.
Can I leave the seater in all the time?
That would allow me to seat the gas check, size and lube the bullet.

I thought I read the gas checks had to be seated as a separate operation then size and lube.

Any help would be appreciated.

Bob

Attaching Gas Checks
You may attach gas checks to your bullets while sizing and lubricating. Simply set the gas
check (cup end up) in the center of the sizing die and place your bullet over it as you pull
down the operating handle. Firm pressure at the bottom of the stroke will usually seat your
gas check firmly and evenly.
However, if the gas check will not fully seat on the bullet using only finger pressure, the
Lyman Gascheck Seater should be employed for best results.
To install, raise the #4500’s push rod until its top bears against the bottom of the sizing die.
Then slip the Gascheck Seater around the threaded pushrod adjusting screw so that the push
rod is held at the base of the sizing die.
Next, a gascheck is set, cup-side up, in the center of the sizing die and a bullet guided into it as
you pull down on the operating handle. Use only enough force to fully seat the gascheck. After
all the gaschecks have been installed, remove the Seater and size and lubricate normally.
Use of the Gascheck Seater ensures the squarest-possible bullet base regardless of the type
of gaschecks used. A good square bullet base translates into improved accuracy.

The above information is from the Lyman site.

Bob

Dale53
12-27-2007, 01:20 PM
The Lyman gas check seater limits the travel of the ram to just move far enough to seat the gas check firmly and squarely. It is necessary to seat the checks first (I run all of my checks first and THEN lube and size the bullets).