PDA

View Full Version : most powder charge in 45-70 case

bigted
03-17-2014, 09:19 PM
so here is my experiment ...

I will soon be in western Oregon where the Roosevelt Elk live. now this is home country for me and I look forward to hunting there in the thick stuff again for my favorite animule ... the largest Elk America has to offer. they are truly magnificent animals and to watch them go thru the maple thickets and thick stuff on the coast range is something to stand in wonder of.

at any rate I have never hunted there with black powder for them and I am determined to do so before im too crippled to go after them. my rifle of choice for now is my Winchester 1885 in 45-70 ...[japchester]... and I have been experimenting with loads for about 4 years now ... found several that would do the trick however ... they are all for up here in the cold and I longed for a straight blackpowder load that I felt was up to the task with truly large animals.

now I DO KNOW about all the bison that fell to this round and I do have trust in the written word concerning these rounds but ... im not sure about my luck in making a western elk lay down rite away rather then having to chase them down like I did when I was a kid. they will go into the deepest and darkest valley and hunker down under the thickest brush ever imaginable and be rite down hard to find ... specially if it is raining ...[like it do there in fall]... where the tracks and blood sign will soon get washed away with all the water falling outta the sky.

sooo ... this is the experiment at long last ...

to find a load that has as much snoose in it as I can get loaded with the best fouling left for repeat shots if needed ... say 3 or maybe 4.

to find this load ... I took a winchester case and neck sized it to just grip my .459 inch boolits. primed it with cci 200 large rifle primers ... flaired the mouth for shoving in the boolits.