PDA

View Full Version : New Boolit caster with some Problems Some help please?

Buckshot Bowman
03-16-2014, 07:49 PM
Hello Lads,
I have been shooting for 50 years this year, I have been reloading for 20 years, and casting bullets for 26 hours.

I went through all the books I have and combed through this site and others to learn to cast, and I am defeated at this point. No matter what mould I use, all my bullets come out with pits on the surface and in the groove bands. I felt I needed to start casting for the obvious reasons, but I have fallen deep in love with big bore Buffalo rifles and buying bullets for them is out of the question on a pure money basis

I bought a number of nice condition moulds on ebay, all look fine even under hand lens. Lead I bought from same place dealers careful to buy no WW just lead from roofing sheets x ray rooms, really checked the sellers background and feedback. The lead all measured at 10 or below on my Cabine tree harness tester. The melt showed only a tablespoon of crud that looked like gray Kosher salt. I mixed 20 to 1 with bar solder also bought on Ebay.

I washed my molds three times with brake cleaner and wiped out with denatured alcohol. I don't have a thermometer yet, but set my RCBS Pro Melt a just under 800 to get a nice flow I preheated the molds on a hot plate and got them hot enough that it takes a six count for the sprue to frost over. I got past the wrinkled nose stage. but just about every near decent bullet I cast from a number of moulds are covered in pits both large and small. Some look like dust in the mold to grains of salt in the mold.

I have moved the mold as close as I can to the spout, tipped the mold towards me a bit to vent the air. and the bullets are as you see them. I am at a loss as to what I am doing wrong, as they sure don't look like the bullets I buy from Buffalo Arms.