PDA

View Full Version : Range lead ?

Boaz
03-15-2014, 08:50 PM
You know I bought some range lead . Should you mix WW lead with it to improve the hardness ? I know it's impossable to give a definte reply but me having no way to test it looks like at least mixing a harder alloy would help and couldn't hurt ? Thanks

NewbieDave007
03-16-2014, 02:50 AM
I'm not an expert but it would depend on your use for the alloy.

mikeym1a
03-16-2014, 04:48 AM
WW's have minimal antimony in it as is. What I have read here is that you should get some 'Magnum Shot', which had antimony in it. I have no idea how much, but other than getting some 'SuperHard' from RotoMetals, (70%lead,30%antimony), that might be the easiest way to get the hardness level up, and you would need to add a bit of tin to help with fill-out. I know I've seen the Magnum shot discussed here before, you might try and search for it. I never seem to ask for the right stuff when I use it, I seem to find everything but what I'm searching for. It's all very interesting, but not what I wanted. mikey

roberts1
03-16-2014, 09:49 AM
For the calbers i load 357 and 45 colt i just use the range scrap as is. Poor fitment will be more problematic than hardness in most situations.

Gunslinger1911
03-16-2014, 09:55 AM
I also have used range lead as is with out problems up to 1000 ish fps. 45ACP etc.

I have taken to adding about 1% antimony using Superhard just so I can use the same mix for everything - 10mm, 454, 500 S&W.

btroj
03-16-2014, 10:02 AM
I use straight range scrap all the time for handgun bullets. If I need them a bit harder, 357 mag for example, then I water drop them.

Try what you have as is. If it leads or gives poor results otherwise the adjust as needed.

Boaz
03-16-2014, 10:38 AM
I thank you for your comments . The super hard and quenching were the first things I thought of and I will try without either before I start adding to or quenching . At the present time all my casting will be for pistol .