View Full Version : .22 Hornet subsonic!!

Dewey von
03-15-2014, 02:17 PM
Hello everyone,

I have been casting bullets for a few years now, with a lot of help and info gathered from this forum. I even was successful playing around with a 124 gr. cast .380 acp, with some input from the folks here. Like most of you, I have been having a hard time finding .22 LR. Especially subsonic, that I like to shoot with a suppressor. So my next project is to try, and load a subsonic .22 Hornet. I have bought two Lyman molds, 44 gr, and 55 gr, and my rifle has a 1-14" twist so It should stabilize the heavier bullets. What I can't find is the Trail boss powder I need to fill the case enough for reliable burn, and still be subsonic. Does anyone know of an equivalent powder to Trail Boss? It needs to be the same burn rate, and also fill the cartridge case. Also, if any one has already loaded any .22 Hornet, and .22 Hornet subsonic, any tips, tricks, and info would be greatly appreciated.

Larry Gibson
03-15-2014, 02:37 PM
It needs to be the same burn rate, and also fill the cartridge case.

Why?

Larry Gibson

mikeym1a
03-15-2014, 03:13 PM
I was thinking a light charge and a smidgeon of dacron.

Larry Gibson
03-15-2014, 06:26 PM

Don't really need the Dacron as a "smidgeon" of Bullseye will do the trick nicel for a subsonic load with either of the OPs' cast bullets in the smaller case of the 22 Hornet.

Larry Gibson

robroy
03-15-2014, 08:26 PM
I've got a 225462 mold that I had modified by removing the gascheck shank. I've got some more work to do with the mold before I can cast with it. I did it because I wanted a plain based boolit to shoot at the velocities you're talking about. Also it was the worst of the 6 of this number that I have. The base was kind of mangled.
Will try some 231 after I weigh the boolits.

Dewey von
03-15-2014, 08:28 PM