PDA

View Full Version : Found my cure for accuracy problems in my 9mm!!!!

tazman
03-14-2014, 09:42 PM
I have been working with a new Taurus pt92 afs 9mm for 3 months now trying to get it to shoot like I thought it should. I was beginning to think it was all just me not being able to shoot a semi auto pistol. Nothing I tried seemed to work really well. Most of my groups were larger at 10 yards than what most people report the gun is capable of a 25 yards.
Early this week I noticed a couple of thing that got me thinking. The rifling lands in my factory barrel are narrow and not very tall. I then noticed a picture on the internet of the rifling in a Beretta 92 barrel showing the rifling being much taller and wider as well. Long story short, I purchased a new Beretta 92 barrel and lug. They arrived today.
They were a drop in fit that was tighter in my pistol than the original barrel. The action is very snug when in battery now. No looseness and very little movement at the front of the barrel.
I fired it at the range this afternoon. Instantly it produced groups less than half the size of my best previous results.
I fired both factory new and reloads through it and it performed beyond my expectations.
My group sizes were about 1 to 1 and 1/2 inches at 10 yard which is only slightly larger than my revolvers produce.
All boolits fed well except for the Lee 105 swc which I had problems with before.
I shot over 170 rounds through the pistol this afternoon and the only malfunctions were with the 105 swc.
I used Lee 356-95-rf, Lee 356-120-tc, Lee 356-125-rn, Lee 358-150-rn, Lee 358-125=rf.
Seems my problem was a bad barrel.

Wally
03-14-2014, 10:18 PM
I have a 99AF...I find I must size to .358" to get good accuracy, however the barrel leads up quickly and badly. Did you notice any difference in barrel leading between the original & the replacement?

Dschuttig
03-14-2014, 10:41 PM