PDA

View Full Version : S+W 1905 cylinder opens hard?

shawnba67
03-09-2014, 11:30 AM
NEW INFO FARTHER DOWN
This might not be the right place but I recently aquired a 1905 made in 39 or 40. When I try and open it it binds up, seems to be the ejector rod in its little spring detent.But could be the crane also, I'm not an expert. The back of cylinder will pop out a little rather easily then it binds up. If I push on the ejector rod just ahead of the frame it works the best. Is this normal? Never owned an old one before.
I have been checking to make sure rod is screwed in all the way.And a thorough cleaning has been performed.

Rich/WIS
03-09-2014, 11:55 AM
Check two things. Open the cylinder and check the cylinder release. When pushed forward the pin should be flush with the frame. Then check the pin in the extractor rod. When the pin at the chamber end is flush with the extractor star the front of the pin should be flush with the front of the rod. If these are okay then check for front to rear movement on the cylinder when closed, sloppy fit means the cylinder can move forward and the front locking pin is not being pushed past its locking recess in the extractor rod. They make bushings to correct this, think Brownells has them. Worst case you may have to remove a slight amount of metal from the end of the extractor rod, this is a part of the initial fitting and if the gun was wartime production this may have been done in a hurry. As long as the front lock fits solidly inside the extractor rod a little metal removal won't matter. Fortunately a lot of parts for these models are still around and this should be a (hopefully) simple and cheap fix. These are nice old revolvers, if you don't feel comfortable doing this yourself take it to a gunsmith.

Outpost75
03-09-2014, 12:02 PM