PDA

View Full Version : pewter question

twc1964
03-08-2014, 12:49 PM
Ok guys, I'm going to hit some yard sales and good will centers on a pewter hunt. can anyone tell me what kind of pewter to shy away from? places of origin- stampings etc. I'm new to this so if i missed a post on this topic, sorry.

imashooter2
03-08-2014, 01:03 PM
Wilton Armetale (RWP), Pewterex, York Metal Crafters, Country Ware, Ameralloy, Arthur Court, Leonard Duratale, Crown Castle and Mariposa Brilliante are all aluminum based alloys and have no value in casting. Real pewter has thin sections, soldered on handles and often a rolled edge for strength. Look at pictures of the real stuff here to get an idea of the proper form:

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?127929-Pewter-pictures-and-hallmarks

William Yanda
03-08-2014, 05:45 PM
Look for "pewter" stamped on the bottom. Some thrift shop employees seem to get some kind of, perhaps even a great measure of, satisfaction in putting their stickers over such stamps. There, now I have vented and I feel better!

PS: I am also irritated when I find such stamps covering logos of other items.

drinks
03-08-2014, 05:57 PM
I found some scrap pewter on ebay, most of the pieces still showed "pewter" somewhere on the piece.
After melting it, I checked the BHN, it is 21.
I shall have to try some of the faster loads with it.
It cannot "lead",but it may "tin".

twc1964
03-08-2014, 09:07 PM
Thanks guys, i will be keeping an eye out for the good stuff. sorta like a treaure hunt but i can shoot the treaure lol

twc1964
03-08-2014, 09:47 PM
Found a riceszinn pewter pitcher for 8 bucks. pretty heavy. says pewter on the bottom. hope i did ok lol

imashooter2
03-08-2014, 10:29 PM
Zinn is German for tin. You did just fine. :)

lwknight
03-08-2014, 11:36 PM
I used to be able to get good pewter cheap on ebay till someone on this forum let it out about ebay.
I never found anything at a goodwill.
I did however buy up a lot of tin when it was $7.00 per pound.