PDA

View Full Version : First Mold ever how to set it up

CaliContractor
02-26-2014, 05:51 PM
Hello Folks,

I just got my first ever mold in the mail today. It's a MiHec brass 4 cav 452374 mold. I am a litttle confused after much reading on how to properly set this mold up. I see some say just heat cycle it and others are doing chemical treatments to them.

This is my first but not last mold and I want to set it up right so that I can avoid as many issues as possible down the road. I have a very accurate pid controlled oven that stays within 1 degree of my setting. When I do the mold blocks themselves what should I do to the HP pins??

Thanks,
Pete

wlc
02-26-2014, 06:57 PM
I'm no expert by far but here is what I do with my MiHa molds. I wash them with dawn dish detergent and really hot water, scrubbing them with a toothbrush (the wife hasn't complained hers tasted funny yet :):) ). Then I just set them on my hot plate to preheat while the pot is coming up to temp. When everything is ready I pour a set of boolits and dump them if the bases aren't filled out. If filled out then I take a q-tip with just a drop of bullplate sprue lube on it and after cutting the sprue off I wipe the top of the blocks and under the sprue plate trying to avoid getting lube on top of the boolits in the mold. Then take the clean side of the q-tip and wipe it off. Then I open the mold and dump the boolits and repeat the sprue lube process on the alignment pins. It takes less than a dab and don't get any sprue lube in the cavities or you will be starting the process all over or have to cast a bunch of times to get the boolits to come out righty. MiHa's brass molds like to run hot and if your temps are good they will literally fall out of the mold with little if any tapping on the hinge pin.

That's my method and experience anyway. Hope it helps.

JonB_in_Glencoe
02-26-2014, 07:09 PM
Most molds, I just clean and start using.
BUT,