PDA

View Full Version : CCI Mini Mags, 'Fail' on rabbits??

Four Fingers of Death
02-13-2014, 07:32 PM
I have been using the old Winchester Power Points for the past 15 years or so with great success. I heard on this site that the CC! Mini Mags were pretty good performers, so I tried a couple of packs. They are fractionally more accurate and I am on my second plastic tray of 100.

Yesterday I finally took them hunting on rabbits with disappointing results. Two were hit squarely with chest shots and rolled a couple of times. (it is summer here and I wasn't after meat as it is too hot to bother skinning, etc, just trying to cut the numbers down for the farmer). Ten seconds or so later, they were up and off! No way would they have survived, but the dogs missed out on a bit of a snack. One was hit in the back of the head, dropped forward and was still for about ten seconds, then tore off out of sight.

The Mini Mags must be blowing upon the hide is all I can think of. Premium cost for less than stellar performance as far as I can see it.

The rifle is a 1977 built Brno (CZ) Model 2 and it hasn't missed a beat in the 35 years and the thousands upon thousands of rounds that I have shot through it.

Has anyone else had these problems?

Outpost75
02-13-2014, 09:08 PM
Your rabbits down under are larger like European hares, and not wimpy wabbit like our cottontails.

But even on our cottontail rabbits I prefer a low velocity, flatnosed .32 S&W Long, 98-grain bullet at about 850 fps to any .22 rimfire. LR solids zip through, causing little damage, whereas. 22LR or. 22 WMR hollowpoints bloodshot too much meat.

The relined Army & Navy CS rook rifle in .32 Long is quieter, kills the bunnies outright, and you can eat right up to the bullet hole.

Works on larger critters too.

waksupi
02-13-2014, 09:22 PM
For small game, I file a small flat on the tip of the .22.

tacklebury
02-13-2014, 11:17 PM