PDA

View Full Version : Lee Crimp Dies?

barnabus
02-13-2014, 02:03 PM
Hello!

I need a specific answer to the following question. I am just getting started using my 550B and Im wanting to use Lee crimp dies in the last station of my press. Lee offers crimp dies in several calibers that I want to load for. As an example they offer both 45acp taper crimp die and a 45acp "factory crimp" die in same caliber.What is the difference? Which one should I use?I have posted this elsewhere put all they tell me is what they are using (not Lee) which doesnt answer my question.Any help would be appreciated.

AnthonyB
02-13-2014, 02:08 PM
The Lee Factory Crimp Die includes a carbide sizer ring that sizes the brass just like a sizer die. IMO, that is a bad thing, especially with cast bullets. Run from the factory crimp die and use the taper crimp die.
Tony

Themoose
02-13-2014, 02:12 PM
Barnabus,

I will give you a specific answer... now it may not be widely agreed to... but, I believe the difference is that the taper crimp gives you the option of going anywhere from no crimp to a very firm crimp and is very gradual... the factory crimp is more pronounced and is firmer... if you have any military ball ammo around look at the crimp on the cases.... there is a visible ring where the crimp is applied... on taper crimped ammo it is smooth....